AGENCE FRANCE-MUSEUMS

Agence France-Muséums

Our mission

Agence France-Muséums, chaired since its creation by Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière, was set up on 11 July 2007 in Paris, in accordance with the intergovernmental agreement signed between the United Arab Emirates and France on 6 March 2007.

Agence France-Muséums has been entrusted with the task of carrying through the commitments of France to the project of the universal museum of the Louvre Abu Dhabi, and of structuring the expertise of the French cultural institutions involved.

It provides assistance and expertise to the authorities of the United Arab Emirates in the following areas:

  • Definition of the scientific and cultural programme
  • Assistance in project management for architecture including museography, signage and multimedia projects
  • Coordination of the loans from French collections and organization of temporary exhibitions
  • Guidance with the creation of a permanent collection
  • Support with the museum’s policy on visitors.

Agence France-Muséums provides consultancy and expertise to its Emirati partners of the Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi (DCT), the authority in charge of conserving and promoting the heritage and culture of Abu Dhabi emirate.

AGENCE FRANCE-MUSEUMS

L'Agence France-Muséums

Notre mission

L’Agence France-Muséums, présidée depuis sa création par Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière, a été créée le 11 juillet 2007 à Paris, en vertu de l’accord intergouvernemental signé entre la France et les Émirats arabes unis le 6 mars 2007.

L’Agence France-Muséums est chargée de mettre en œuvre les engagements de la France relatifs au projet de musée universel du Louvre Abu Dhabi et de structurer l’expertise des institutions culturelles françaises associées au projet.

Elle assure une mission d’assistance et d’expertise auprès des autorités des Emirats Arabes Unis dans les domaines suivants :

  • La définition du projet scientifique et culturel ;
  • L’assistance à la maîtrise d’ouvrage pour le bâtiment y compris la muséographie, la signalétique et les projets multimédia ;
  • L’organisation des prêts des collections françaises et d’expositions temporaires ;
  • Le conseil à la constitution d’une collection permanente ;
  • La définition de la politique des publics.

L’Agence France-Muséums assure cette mission d’assistance et d’expertise auprès de ses partenaires émiriens : Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority (TCA Abu Dhabi), la structure en charge de la promotion et du développement de la Culture et du Tourisme de l’Emirat.