AGENCE FRANCE-MUSEUMS

The Scientific and Cultural Programme

As the first universal museum outside the western world, the Louvre Abu Dhabi inaugurates in the Arab world a cultural institution born in Enlightenment Europe. Its values and identity are based on the concepts of discovery, exchanges and education which are sustained within the unique alliance between the greatest museum in the world and modern Arabia.

The Louvre Abu Dhabi’s scientific and cultural programme provides the future museum’s intellectual and conceptual backbone. It encapsulates this exchange in an original museographic approach honed to showcase and nurture dialogue between art from different civilisations and cultures around the world, stretching from the most remotely immemorial to the very latest. Overstepping boundaries between art forms and techniques, and between civilisations and geographic regions, to cast light on the underlying exchanges as much as each one’s distinctive wealth captures something about Abu Dhabi’s multicultural ethos and Arabia’s millenary role as a bridge between the West and East, and between the North and South, as it was in the days of the Incense Route, and as the Persian Gulf served as a link between Europe and the Indian Ocean opening up exchanges between Asia and Africa.

The goal is to give visitors the bearings they need to understand how art developed in each civilisation (the West, Arabic and Muslim world, and Asia, as well as Africa, the Americas and Australasia). The Louvre Abu Dhabi also develops a deliberately comparative approach in a concentrated display encompassing a few hundred relevant and revealing works in an area that is small enough to encapsulate the full message in one visit.

The scientific and cultural programme also takes an essential look at issues touching on human as much as audiovisual mediation and interpretation in the museum experience, which will be used to escort and guide visitors from around the world during their experience. A museum for children, comprising an autonomous exhibition gallery and workshops, will complete the experience. In this way, the programme will strive to build the Enlightenment’s invitation to look at works with a sensitive and educated eye, with a view to studying them, comparing them and delighting in their invariably singular meaning.

In constructing its universal subject matter on the principles set by the intergovernmental agreement of March 2007, the scientific and cultural programme highlights the richness of French public collections collections in a dialogue with the Louvre Abu Dhabi own collection. The temporary-exhibition programme will be devised at the same time as the scientific and cultural programme and will amplify the message in the museum’s galleries, by inviting the collections of the entire world to contribute to original events, which will be likely to circulate around the major international museum institutions.

For more information about the Louvre Abu Dhabi Collection, two publications are available:

 

A chronological history of art that assembles masterpieces from all artistic disciplines around the globe and throughout the ages. This book -the first to be dedicated to the museum’s collection- allows the reader to discover the universal spirit that permeates and incarnates the birth of this new museum. The growing collection, presented here for the first time, best captures and expresses the essence and spirit of the museum itself. These 300 works, reproduced in exceptional photographs commissioned for the publication, open a dialogue between the diverse world cultures and their artistic expressions.

Number of pages : 319
Publication date : April 2013
Publishers : Skira Flammarion, Louvre Museum’s Publication
In French, English, Arabic

 

This album was published for the exhibition Louvre Abu Dhabi. Birth of a museum at Musée du Louvre in Paris, 2 May - 28 July 2014.

Number of pages : 56
Publication date : April 2014
Publishers : Les éditions Musée du Louvre, Flammarion
In French, English, Arabic.

AGENCE FRANCE-MUSEUMS

Le projet scientifique et culturel

Premier musée universel hors du monde occidental, le Louvre Abu Dhabi inaugure en terre arabe une institution culturelle née de l’Europe des Lumières. Ses valeurs et son identité reposent sur les notions de découverte, de rencontre et d’éducation, que porte en soi l’alliance inédite du plus grand musée du monde avec l’Arabie moderne.

Armature intellectuelle et conceptuelle du futur musée, le projet scientifique et culturel du Louvre Abu Dhabi traduit cette rencontre en un propos muséographique original, conçu pour présenter et faire dialoguer l’art des différentes civilisations et cultures du monde, des plus immémoriales aux plus actuelles. Décloisonner les arts et les techniques, les civilisations et les aires géographiques, pour mettre en valeur tant les échanges que les spécificités propres à chacune : cette volonté est à l’image de la réalité multiculturelle d’Abu Dhabi et prolonge le rôle millénaire de l’Arabie comme lien entre l’Ouest et l’Est, le Nord et le Sud, dans le souvenir de la route de l’encens, de l’histoire du Golfe persique entre Europe et Océan Indien, ouvrant la voie du contact avec l’Asie et l’Afrique.

Il s’agit d’offrir aux visiteurs des grands repères pour comprendre l’histoire des arts propre aux différentes civilisations, l’Occident, le monde arabo-musulman et l’Asie, mais aussi l’Afrique, l’Amérique et l’Océanie. De même, le Louvre Abu Dhabi s’appuie sur une conception résolument comparatiste, grâce à une présentation concentrée sur quelques centaines d’œuvres pertinentes et démonstratives, dans un espace à échelle humaine, autorisant ainsi une compréhension de la totalité du propos en une seule visite.

Le projet scientifique et culturel mène également une réflexion essentielle sur les questions de médiation, tant humaine qu’audio-visuelle, qui devront accompagner au plus près les visiteurs du monde entier dans leur visite. Ce dispositif sera complété par la mise en place d’un musée des enfants, composé d’une galerie d’exposition autonome et d’ateliers. Ainsi, le projet s’efforce d’inscrire dans la réalité du parcours de visite la généreuse invitation des Lumières à apprendre par un regard sensible et éclairé, qui étudie, compare et se délecte du sens toujours singulier des œuvres qui lui sont offertes.

Construisant son propos universel sur les principes posés par l’accord intergouvernemental de mars 2007, le projet scientifique et culturel met en lumière la richesse des collections publiques françaises mises en dialogue avec la propre collection du Louvre Abu Dhabi. Le programme d’expositions temporaires, défini parallèlement au projet scientifique et culturel, viendra amplifier le propos offert par les galeries du musée, en invitant les collections du monde entier à contribuer à des événements originaux, susceptibles de circuler dans de grandes institutions muséales internationales.

Pour plus d’informations sur la Collection du Louvre Abu Dhabi, deux publications sont disponibles :

 

Cet ouvrage permet de découvrir l’esprit universel qui préside à la naissance du Louvre Abu Dhabi à travers la reproduction des 300 premières acquisitions qui font dialoguer les différentes civilisations du monde et leurs expressions artistiques, des plus immémoriales aux plus actuelles, de l’archéologie à l’art contemporain.
Ces œuvres sont analysées dans leur contexte culturel, de façon à éclairer chacune pour ce qu’elle est, tout en la replaçant au carrefour des grandes cultures qui composent les collections de ce musée.

Nombre de pages : 319
Date de parution : Avril 2013
Editeurs : Skira Flammarion, Les éditions Musée du Louvre
Langues : Français, Anglais, Arabe

 

Cet album a été publié à l’occasion de l’exposition « Louvre Abu Dhabi. Naissance d’un musée » au musée du Louvre à Paris du 2 mai au 28 juillet 2014.
Il présente les enjeux architecturaux, esthétiques et historiques du Louvre Abu Dhabi, ainsi que des pièces maîtresses qui vont y figurer, de l’archéologie égyptienne à Mondrian en passant par la peinture zen ou les miniatures persanes.

Nombre de pages : 56
Date de parution : Avril 2014
Editeurs : Les éditions Musée du Louvre, Flammarion
Langues : Français, Anglais, Arabe.