AGENCE FRANCE-MUSEUMS

Presentation of Abu Dhabi

Located on the Arab Peninsula’s oriental coast, at the crossroads of Europe, Asia and Africa, the United Arab Emirates are a federation, formed in 1971, made up of seven Emirates. The Emirate of Abu Dhabi is the largest of the seven and represents over 85% of the territory.
Abu Dhabi is the capital of the country and the seat of the federal government.

A multicultural and cosmopolitan city, Abu Dhabi is home to over 2 657 000 inhabitants, out of a total of over 9 million inhabitants in the United Arab Emirates (9,984,143 inhabitants, according to the annual census of 2014).
Culture, heritage and education have a very prominent place in the development of the United Arab Emirates.

www.visitabudhabi.ae/en

 

The Saadiyat Cultural District

Saadiyat Cultural District on Saadiyat Island, Abu Dhabi, is devoted to culture and the arts. An ambitious cultural undertaking for the 21st century, it will be a nucleus for global culture, attracting local, regional and international guests with unique exhibitions, permanent collections, productions and performances.

Its ground-breaking buildings will form a historical statement of the finest 21st century architecture : Zayed National Museum designed by Norman Foster, Louvre Abu Dhabi designed by Jean Nouvel and opened since November 2017 and Guggenheim Abu Dhabi designed by Franck Gehry.

These museums will complement and collaborate with local and regional arts and cultural institutions including universities and research centres.

http://www.saadiyatculturaldistrict.ae/

AGENCE FRANCE-MUSEUMS

Présentation d'Abu Dhabi

Situés sur la côte orientale de la péninsule Arabique, au carrefour de l’Europe, de l’Asie et de l’Afrique, les Emirats Arabes Unis sont une fédération formée en 1971 et constituée de sept émirats. L’émirat d’Abu Dhabi est le plus grand des émirats et représente plus de 85% du territoire.
Abu Dhabi est la capitale du pays et abrite le siège du gouvernement fédéral.

Ville multiculturelle et cosmopolite, Abu Dhabi compte plus de 2 657 000 habitants, sur un total de plus de 9 millions d’habitants aux Emirats Arabes Unis (9 984 143 habitants, selon le recensement annuel de 2014).
La culture, le patrimoine et l’éducation occupent une place fondamentale parmi les priorités en matière de développement des Emirats Arabes Unis.

www.visitabudhabi.ae/fr

 

Le District Culturel de Saadiyat

Le Saadiyat Cultural District, situé sur l’île Saadiyat à Abu Dhabi, est un quartier dédié à la culture et aux arts. Projet culturel ambitieux pour le XXIe siècle, il est destiné à devenir un centre majeur de la culture mondiale, dont les expositions, les collections permanentes, les productions, les performances et les manifestations attireront un large public local, régional et international.

Ses bâtiments iconiques, le Zayed National Museum de Norman Foster, le Louvre Abu Dhabi conçu par Jean Nouvel et inauguré en novembre 2017, le Guggenheim Abu Dhabi imaginé par Franck Gehry, créeront un nouveau paysage urbain historique pour le 21e siècle.

Ces musées travailleront en étroite collaboration avec les institutions artistiques et culturelles locales et régionales, dont ils sont complémentaires, notamment les universités et les centres de recherche.

Site internet du District Culturel de Saadiyat : www.saadiyatculturaldistrict.ae/